Boys Varsity Basketball · Boys Varsity Basketball is Headed to Chiles Center beating Oregon City 68 – 56

56 Oregon City High School
68 South Salem High School
Away   Home
Away Home
Oregon City High School vs South Salem High School
56 68
1 8   12
2 16   18
3 17   10
4 15   28

South Salem (#2 rank in State, 23-3 overall) beat Oregon City (#18) with a final score of 68 – 56 in the second round of playoffs, and have punched their ticket to the Quarterfinals at Chiles Center, in Portland, OR. It was a physical, defensive battle all game between both teams, but South Salem was able to create more extra possessions off of their rebounding and aggressive style of defense. South Salem was down one going into the 4th quarter, after giving up a 6 point lead with South Salem 40 – Oregon City 41. The Saxons came out in the 4th quarter with full court pressure, trapping defensively, leading to transition threes and easy baskets on the offensive end of the floor. Oregon City kept fighting to stay in the game by fouling South Salem at the 3 minute mark to extend the game and force South Salem to hit free throws down the stretch. South Salem went 15 for 16 from the free throw line in the last 3 minutes to seal the victory and guarantee their spot in the Quarterfinals. South Salem’s Trey Galbraith led the Saxons with 15 points, 5 assists, and three 3 PT FG’s. Cole Hardy came in clutch down the stretch hitting a crucial three in the fourth quarter and finishing with 15 points, 7 rebounds, 1 block, and 1 steal. Emorej Lynk finished the game with a double-double 10 points, 10 rebounds, and 4 assists. Nick Zuro played big for the Saxons finishing with 13 points, 9 rebounds, and affecting the game on the defensive end by challenging several shots at the rim all night. #2 South Salem plays #7 Lake Oswego @ Chiles Center 8:15 PM, Thursday night, March 12th, 2020.

South Salem – Trey Galbraith (15), Cole Hardy (15), Nick Zuro (13), Emorej Lynk (10), Kieran Pruett (9), Isaac Gabriel (4), Jasper Phipps (2), Parker Johnson, Peyton Kreitzer, John Rapp, Ian Huntington, Drew Gertenrich.

Oregon City – Andre Best (24), Hanson (14), Gettel (9), Newkirk (5), Welch (2), Warren (2).